My personal issues with it aside, errata'ing it to work as "intended" is the ultimate goal.
That's actually what got me interested in the project: with a nice and well thought out errata on hand a lot of the "wording issues" and discussion during gameplay would cease and it'll go faster.
Fact is, by its own designers admission, D&D was never meant to be balanced, it was made in a way that would reward owning more books and knowing more stuff about the game, that would give more power to expert players that are able to discern good stuff from the bad one, etc..
So if an item, class, feature, race, etc is overpowered, there's a good chance it was meant to be that way. I really cannot believe they EVER thought the druid and monk, the cleric and the paladin, etc were on the same level.
This should always be kept in mind when trying to figure out the "intended effect" of a rule IMHO.
Back into the specific of the Crown of White Ravens, I also feel the errata for it has two issues:
1. puts on it limitations that were never there
2. fails to address some issues with unclear wording in the description of the item
I'm not sure if I should create a thread about it or discuss it here, so to be safe I'll put my ideas here and if it's not the right place just tell me so and I'll move them
Stances cannot be contained in this item.
This is true and was needed, no issues with it
The maneuver is added to your list of maneuvers known for the purposes of readying maneuvers, but not meeting prerequisites of feats, prestige classes, magic items, maneuvers, or any other effect that requires maneuvers known. The maneuver must be readied as normal. You must meet all requirements for the maneuver in order to benefit from this item, including having a high enough initiator level to actually learn the maneuver.
This however is, in my opinion, both too much and lacking.
I think it should be clarified if, for example, a Fighter 10 would benefit from the crown (I'd say yes since some manouvers have no prerequisite except for Initiator level and a Fighter 10 has IL 5) and how would he ready/use/recharge the manouver granted (at least a reference to the page where it's explained).
I also don't see why that manouver wouldn't count for feats, PrC, Manouvers, etc... you DO know the manouver, and you had to pay a slot and money for it (often a poor trade in my opinion). Of course like any other case, if you lose access to it, you'd lose anything that required it to work, till you get it again.
If you attempt combine two or more Crowns into the same item (see the Dungeon Master's Guide, page 282), each crown involved must be of a different type (Novice, Scholar, Master), and must contain a different maneuver in each instance. You cannot, for example, combine three Crowns that each contain the Leading the Attack strike, but you could combine three crowns that contain Leading the Attack, White Raven Tactics, and White Raven Hammer.
Here's the other issue I have. I agree that if you've a "double crown" of White Raven, choosing twice the same manouver would just waste one of the two (mind you, you CAN choose the same manouver twice, it just means you wasted "one crown", just like you can have two item granting a +2 enhancement bonus to Str, they won't explode, but they won't stack either).
I don't see why tho you can't stack on the same item more than one of the same type.
As usual, I may have missed or misread something so, just tell me what you think about it.