Author Topic: The Dave handbook Discussion  (Read 3189 times)

Offline polycrac

• DnD Handbook Writer
  • slam drunk
    • View Profile
The Dave handbook Discussion
« on: May 15, 2015, 08:05:17 AM »
This is my first try. I'm wanting to get people's opinions with a view to expanding this and writing it up properly - what do you think?
so an Elf, a Dwarf and Treant walk into a bar...

Offline polycrac

• DnD Handbook Writer
  • slam drunk
    • View Profile
Re: The Dave handbook Discussion
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2015, 08:05:27 AM »
Being Dave Malkovitch -  a mini handbook to help inspire better followers

Perhaps you’re a seasoned adventurer and you’ve fed your DM enough beer for him to allow Leadership and now you’re wondering what to do with those 5 x 1st level followers. Conventional wisdom would say they’re too squishy for anything but background Mooks, household staff or dragon-fodder: there’s no point in filling out their details.

Well, I’m here to tell you that conventional wisdom can kiss my shiny, metal, warforged ass. Ignore all of those nasty terms like ‘BSF’, ‘Meatshield’ and ‘Tier 5’. What you want, what we all want, is the humble, vanilla, Level One Human Fighter. Dave. We want Dave.
You might think that Dave is a poor choice – you might think all he’s good for is picking up the pointy thing and poking holes in goblins. Well, friend, you’re wrong. Dave is one of the most versatile and varied of all D&D’s wondrous beasts. I’m going to show you a few ways that Dave can exceed your expectations and fulfil all the usual party roles and more!

Disclaimer: