Author Topic: [PF] Can Geminate Invoker Barbarians cast Spells?  (Read 167 times)

Offline TC X0 Lt 0X

  • DnD Handbook Writer
  • ***
  • Posts: 763
  • The TC Storywriter
    • View Profile
[PF] Can Geminate Invoker Barbarians cast Spells?
« on: December 18, 2017, 09:43:09 PM »
The Geminate Invoker Barbarian has the Trance class feature which modifies Rage.
The ability states at the beginning of its 2nd paragraph: "Instead of the normal rage bonuses and penalties," and goes on to lists its bonuses, but does not list any penalties.
It notably states you can use skills normally restricted while raging, but doesn't say anything about concentration. It was a little fuzzy if this means they still can't cast spells while in a trance or not, but I decided to compare it to the Moment of Clarity Rage Power, which states "The barbarian does not gain any benefits or take any of the penalties from rage for 1 round." It goes on to clarify that these bonuses/penalties include the restrictions to actions. This seems to indicate the action restrictions are a penalty.

With that in mind, would Trance allow a Barbarian to cast spells while it is active, given it doesn't have the normal penalties of rage?
Im really bad at what I do.
A+

Offline ketaro

  • Epic Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 3690
  • I'm always new!
    • View Profile
Re: [PF] Can Geminate Invoker Barbarians cast Spells?
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2017, 10:06:47 PM »
(click to show/hide)

Instead of Rage's Bonuses & Penalties

You just get this following stuff instead.

Its not saying instead of A's Bonus&Penalties you get B's Bonus&Penalties instead.
Sooooo.......You don't have the penalty of not being able to cast while raging because that penalty was removed in place of the new thing. That's how that reads to me. Seems pretty clear.

Offline Archon

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
Re: [PF] Can Geminate Invoker Barbarians cast Spells?
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2017, 10:48:54 AM »
It's slightly weird, and possible a product of not thinking through their own writing, but nonetheless it seems pretty unambiguous that you don't suffer the penalty of not being able to cast spells.