Author Topic: Need suggestions for new players  (Read 6785 times)

Offline Slaughterhouserock

• Hail to the king, baby.
    • View Profile
    • Horror Movie Fans
Need suggestions for new players
« on: November 08, 2011, 05:45:10 PM »
As the title states, I'll be running a game for some friends of mine that know pure fuckall when it comes to D&D.  I'm ok with this as I have taught people how to play in the past.  I have, however, run into a problem in figuring out what I should run for them.  Does anyone have any suggestions for a newb-friendly adventure?  I would prefer something low level to keep things somewhat simple, but anything will suffice.
The DM giveth and the rogue taketh away.
I have a 5 in Charisma and Diplomacy is a cross-class skill.  Hopefully I don't piss off too many people.

Offline weenog

• View Profile
Re: Need suggestions for new players
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2011, 10:43:54 PM »
No specific adventure suggestions, but advise that you should do something that is not a straightforward combat grind.  If you give them the idea that "hit the thing with the other thing" is the way you win, and situations where that kind of problem-solving is useless never come up, they might get the wrong idea about how the game works, and be hard to correct later.
"Whoops, forgot to roll my fire and holy damage."
"I doubt she's going to make a DC 111 Fort save, anyway."

Offline littha

• Epic Member
  • +1 Holy Muffin
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2011, 10:55:50 PM »
Run Tomb of Horrors, then drink their tears   ;D

in all seriousness though don't do this, I suggest finding a nice simple to run and play dungeon with a couple of not too hard puzzles and some skill challenges just to get them to try out each mechanic.  I would also suggest building characters for them beforehand with full stories to give them an idea of what to aim for, building characters with no game experience is a daunting task and usually not the best idea.