Author Topic: D&D Collection & Labels  (Read 2467 times)

Offline Necrosnoop110

• DnD Handbook Writer
  • I'm new!
    • View Profile
D&D Collection & Labels
« on: March 27, 2016, 08:34:51 PM »
I have a growing D&D collection that I've been procuring since I've been a wee lad. The rulebooks have grown in number, especially with 3E. My house is gaming central and my books are frequently used and loaned out. I am a librarian by trade. I am tempted to label my books with a cataloging scheme of my own design with spine labels for ease of use and ordering on my bookshelves.

I am wondering what your guys thoughts are about this? None of my books are in new or fine condition, most items are between fair and good condition. Is there any "collectors" reason I should refrain from labeling my books? Some sort of "preservation" reason? Something I'm not thinking of? I really do want to do this but am open to alternative ideas and suggestions.

Thanks,
Necro
« Last Edit: March 27, 2016, 08:36:24 PM by Necrosnoop110 »

Offline Solo

• DnD Handbook Writer
  • Sorcelator Supreme
    • View Profile
    • Solo's Compiled Works
Re: D&D Collection & Labels
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2016, 09:15:20 PM »
Label away. In my experience, they come off easily with a bit of mineral oil or isopropyl alcohol. Alternatively, you can use labels with an adhesive just a little stronger than post-it note adhesive.
"I am the Black Mage! I cast the spells that makes the peoples fall down."

Offline Maelphaxerazz

• Respect: over 9000
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2016, 03:05:25 PM »
A good way to do labels is to print them on ordinary paper, then tape them on with clear tape. That way only a small amount of "sticky surface" is actually adhering to the book: the little bit of tape around the edges of the label. This is easy to remove and clean if you later want to sell the books or change your labels.

Offline Solo

• DnD Handbook Writer
  • Sorcelator Supreme
    • View Profile