Author Topic: Can you suggest a good gaming system?  (Read 7377 times)

Offline Mister Lamp

• DnD Handbook Writer
  • Meh. . .
    • View Profile
Can you suggest a good gaming system?
« on: December 30, 2011, 04:17:51 PM »
My group and I have been doing DnD for several years now and would like to try a different system. We have previously played Deathwatch as well, and enjoyed it.

one of my friends said:
I want something that's futuristic, but not Star Wars futuristic.

We hope for your responses.

pleases list what systems you like, as well as what reasons its good.
(click to show/hide)

Offline Prime32

• Over-Underling
  • Retired Admin
    • View Profile
Re: Can you suggest a good gaming system?
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2011, 04:32:21 PM »
Anything more specific than that? Because "futuristic but not Star Wars" is pretty broad/vague, and futuristic window-dressing can be dropped on just about any system (especially fantasy ones). What does your group enjoy while playing D&D? Tactical combat? The story? Interacting with NPCs and each other?
« Last Edit: December 30, 2011, 04:34:28 PM by Prime32 »

Offline sirpercival

• Epic Member
  • you can't escape the miles
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2011, 04:55:08 PM »
Obligatory homebrew plug: MAGIPUNK! My WIP homebrew D&D setting that's futuristic, postmodern fantasy. Think cyberpunk with all the tech replaced by magic.  :D :D

Lol.  Seriously, to reiterate what Prime said, setting is less important than what you want out of the game.  Almost any game can be adapted to the setting you want.
I am the assassin of productivity

(member in good standing of the troll-feeders guild)

It's begun — my things have overgrown the previous sig.

Offline xaotiq1

• I don't always play D&D. But when I do, it's 3.X!
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2011, 04:55:58 PM »