Author Topic: Anyone run 5e Ravenloft - Curse of Strahd - tips?  (Read 3643 times)

Offline Nunkuruji

• DnD Handbook Writer
  • I shall bring great terror
    • View Profile
Anyone run 5e Ravenloft - Curse of Strahd - tips?
« on: August 26, 2017, 08:56:55 PM »
Planning on running Ravenloft as part of an ongoing campaign, modifying some small bits of the story for appropriate continuity.

For anyone's who's run the 5e version, any tips or pitfalls to avoid as a DM?

Offline Agita

• He Who Lurks
  • *stare*
    • View Profile
Re: Anyone run 5e Ravenloft - Curse of Strahd - tips?
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2017, 06:20:32 AM »
I studied the adventure fairly extensively in preparation for running it, though I haven't gotten around to doing so. I also played through about half of it. My first comment is that it's a pretty interconnected adventure with a quite strong plot thread running through, but it's hard to realize this in how it's written. The whole book is laid out kind of like a computer game, by area instead of by story like many other adventures are, so if you want to get an idea of the story beats the players are mostly expected to follow, though they can strike off and explore, you're going to have to hunt through the book.

A good example of this contained within a single area is in Strahd's castle: Several events throughout the book lead to the characters getting a formal invitation to dine with the Prince. When they follow the invitation, Strahd's chamberlain awaits them in the entrance hall and leads them to the dining room, where they find Strahd playing the organ, he talks with them briefly, then mocks them and disappears. But this is not presented as one event, rather the section on the entrance hall simply reads "The chamberlain leads the characters to the dining hall area" and then the dining hall section says "when the characters first enter, they find Strahd playing the organ, etcetera".