Author Topic: Computer hardware help  (Read 2101 times)

Offline dman11235

• DnD Handbook Writer
  • Disclaimer: not at full capacity yet
    • View Profile
Computer hardware help
« on: October 12, 2015, 11:38:27 PM »
I'm looking to upgrade my desktop a bit, by upgrading the processor.  However, as I have rapidly found out, my motherboard is so old I may need to upgrade that too (because it will be cheaper, and more powerful to do so).  I am by no means a computer expert, so I'm asking the boards for some guidance in choosing the right pair.  Price range is absolutely less than 500, but I want to shoot for 400 or less.  To that end, I've been trying to scale back price from this pair, without scaling back power much:

Now, I don't even know for sure if they'd work, because I'm again, not a computer expert....

My graphics card and RAM are fine right now, with DDR3 dual 6 gig RAM and a 2 gig old one that I don't care too much about, and graphics is nvidia zotac geforce gt 640 lp, also fairly new.

So I guess my major question is...what should I be looking for?  I'm not entirely sure what I should be looking for in this.  My goal is running heavily modded Minecraft and modestly modded Kerbal Space Program well, while streaming on Twitch.  The first is heavy on the RAM, the second is heavy on the processor.  And how do I make sure my current graphics card and ram can work on the new motherboard?
My Sig's Handy Haversack  Need help?  Want to see what I've done?  Want to see what others have done well?  Check it out.

Offline Jackinthegreen

• DnD Handbook Writer
  • I like green.
    • View Profile
Re: Computer hardware help
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2015, 03:05:23 AM »
An Intel i7 is overkill for pretty much everything but multiple simultaneous video encoding work.  If you want to stick with Intel but still have the power then an i5 will suit you well.