Author Topic: [PF] Can Geminate Invoker Barbarians cast Spells?  (Read 752 times)

Offline TC X0 Lt 0X

  • DnD Handbook Writer
  • ***
  • Posts: 841
  • The TC Storywriter
    • View Profile
[PF] Can Geminate Invoker Barbarians cast Spells?
« on: December 18, 2017, 09:43:09 PM »
The Geminate Invoker Barbarian has the Trance class feature which modifies Rage.
The ability states at the beginning of its 2nd paragraph: "Instead of the normal rage bonuses and penalties," and goes on to lists its bonuses, but does not list any penalties.
It notably states you can use skills normally restricted while raging, but doesn't say anything about concentration. It was a little fuzzy if this means they still can't cast spells while in a trance or not, but I decided to compare it to the Moment of Clarity Rage Power, which states "The barbarian does not gain any benefits or take any of the penalties from rage for 1 round." It goes on to clarify that these bonuses/penalties include the restrictions to actions. This seems to indicate the action restrictions are a penalty.

With that in mind, would Trance allow a Barbarian to cast spells while it is active, given it doesn't have the normal penalties of rage?
Im really bad at what I do.
A+

Offline ketaro

  • Epic Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 4177
  • I'm always new!
    • View Profile
Re: [PF] Can Geminate Invoker Barbarians cast Spells?
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2017, 10:06:47 PM »
(click to show/hide)

Instead of Rage's Bonuses & Penalties

You just get this following stuff instead.

Its not saying instead of A's Bonus&Penalties you get B's Bonus&Penalties instead.
Sooooo.......You don't have the penalty of not being able to cast while raging because that penalty was removed in place of the new thing. That's how that reads to me. Seems pretty clear.

Offline Archon

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 334
    • View Profile
Re: [PF] Can Geminate Invoker Barbarians cast Spells?
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2017, 10:48:54 AM »
It's slightly weird, and possible a product of not thinking through their own writing, but nonetheless it seems pretty unambiguous that you don't suffer the penalty of not being able to cast spells.

Offline Power

  • DnD Handbook Writer
  • ***
  • Posts: 355
  • Rolling a boulder up a hill
    • View Profile
Re: [PF] Can Geminate Invoker Barbarians cast Spells?
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2019, 10:32:36 AM »
Seems to be intentional, honestly. Germinate Invoker Barbarian is clearly meant to be able to use abilities that require patience or concentration. Enlightened Bloodrager is similarly construed to permit the user to use any spell, not just Bloodrager spells.

Other ways to cast spells while raging (aside from Moment of Clarity or casting as a Bloodrager) include the Mad Magic feat (which requires bloodrage or perfect clarity rage power), the 1st-level bloodline power of the Vestige bloodrager bloodline (uses a swift and halves morale bonuses, can also be obtained with the Raging Blood feat), and Furious Spell metamagic, which gives a +1 level penalty and a +2 to CL checks. This of course means that it is also possible to use a metamagic rod of furious spell to cast spells while raging.

Lastly, it is also possible to equip the Robes of Xin-Bakrakhan, which is a ludicrously expensive item (198k gp) giving +1 to caster level, a +5 shield bonus (a +5 mithral buckler is cheaper), and 24 spell resistance in addition to immunity to calm emotions and the ability to use all skills and abilities that require patience or concentration when under the effect of a rage spell or similar effect.
« Last Edit: February 13, 2020, 09:41:28 AM by Power »