Author Topic: Incarnum Handbook Discussion (including Totemist Handbook)  (Read 3067 times)

Offline Sinfire Titan

  • Hustler 3
  • Retired Admin
  • *****
  • Posts: 1443
  • You have one round to give a rat's ass.
    • View Profile
Incarnum Handbook Discussion (including Totemist Handbook)
« on: January 06, 2012, 10:44:12 AM »
I have three handbooks for this subject, I'm just going to condense them into one discussion thread.
« Last Edit: April 23, 2017, 11:21:54 PM by Sinfire Titan »
Concerned about how moderation works here? Please PM this account.

Offline Chronos

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • I'm new!
    • View Profile
Re: General Incarnum Discussion
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2012, 07:59:19 AM »
I was reading your Totemist handbook and it made me think of this monk/lycanthrope villian i worked up for my group.  With the addition of Dr feats i can see the totemist really shine. the main one would have to be Beast strike Dr. 355 for one feat you gain "When you make an unarmed strike or grapple check to deal damage, you may add your claw or slam damage to your unarmed strike or grapple damage." the requirements of +5bab, imp.unarmed, and a claw/slam attack. warfarged can out meet with slam atk. if your not warfarged try to haggle the dm. But the feat will really shines with Kruthic claws or Girallon arms. But this all assumes that once you took this feat with one claw/slam attack you can apply it to any claw attack you have available.

Offline Tonymitsu

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 258
  • The Original Distinguished Anarchist
    • View Profile
Re: General Incarnum Discussion
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2012, 01:57:50 AM »
I have some questions about the Totemist handbook.

When first talking about soulmelds in the second post, there's a line that says, "Any of them labeled with a (Totem Bonus) offer extra Natural Attacks, all of which stack."
I'm confused by what that means. If one meld grants you a bite attack, and another claws, that I understand... but it also seems to imply that the claw attacks from binding Rage Claws, and the ones from Sphinx Claws would also stack, for a total of four. Unless it explicitly says somewhere you grow extra limbs to accommodate this...?

There's also a part at the end of the third post when discussing soulmelds in detail.
It says that Urskan Greaves grants 1d4 of sonic damage on charge attacks. This is incorrect. Thunderstep Boots (Soulborn only) do sonic damage on a charge. The 1d4 damage from Urskan Greaves is untyped.
The same post also suggests combining Urskan Greaves with Landshark boots. Unless I missed something in the rules again this shouldn't be possible, as both the Greaves and the Boots occupy the Feet chakra and you cannot shape more than one soulmeld in the same slot.
"The only thing in the entire universe more dangerous than knowledge is ignorance."
--Lord Volkarion Knightcon

Offline 123456789blaaa

  • DnD Handbook Writer
  • ***
  • Posts: 623
  • Not very active here but still active online
    • View Profile
Re: General Incarnum Discussion
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2013, 12:57:31 AM »
I was speaking to Tempest Stormwind earlier and he made a comparison that I thought was quite good for  people who having trouble understanding Incarnum:

Quote
Also, the guide might want to mention that the closest analogue to essentia is caster level. When I was learning incarnum, once I realized that essentia was essentially a limited pool of caster levels that you distributed between a bunch of ongoing "spells" (with both continuous effects and triggers, similar to produce flame and the like), it became a lot easier to grasp.


You may want to add it to the general Incarnum guide somewhere.
Please, call me Count :).

Offline Stratovarius

  • Forum Host
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6959
  • Arhosan Emperor
    • View Profile
Re: General Incarnum Discussion
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2014, 12:13:19 PM »
A bit of (appropriate, based on subject) thread necromancy here -

Went to the incarnum handbook to look up the Necrocarnate, and all it is is a link to a defunct WotC thread. Was anyone able to save the discussion on Necrocarnum somewhere?

Offline sirpercival

  • Epic Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 10856
  • you can't escape the miles
    • View Profile
Re: General Incarnum Discussion
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2014, 11:21:51 AM »
A bit of (appropriate, based on subject) thread necromancy here -

Went to the incarnum handbook to look up the Necrocarnate, and all it is is a link to a defunct WotC thread. Was anyone able to save the discussion on Necrocarnum somewhere?
I have a fix, if that's what you're looking for.
I am the assassin of productivity

(member in good standing of the troll-feeders guild)

It's begun — my things have overgrown the previous sig.

Offline PsyBomb

  • DnD Handbook Writer
  • **
  • Posts: 195
  • I'm new!
    • View Profile
Re: General Incarnum Discussion
« Reply #6 on: April 19, 2014, 11:52:53 AM »
can you post links to your threads in the OP? Just makes discussion easier.

On topic, Tonymitsu has a very good point. Natural Attacks of the same kind do not stack. Granted, there is only one natural attack form that has more than one Soulmeld granting it (Claws, given by Rageclaws, Sphinx Claws, Dragon Claws, and Girallon Arms), but it bears mention.

Offline Stratovarius

  • Forum Host
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6959
  • Arhosan Emperor
    • View Profile
Re: General Incarnum Discussion
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2014, 12:37:25 PM »
A bit of (appropriate, based on subject) thread necromancy here -

Went to the incarnum handbook to look up the Necrocarnate, and all it is is a link to a defunct WotC thread. Was anyone able to save the discussion on Necrocarnum somewhere?
I have a fix, if that's what you're looking for.

Was actually looking for how to break the game with it. :P

Offline awaken_D_M_golem

  • Epic Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 7616
  • classique style , invisible tail
    • View Profile
Re: General Incarnum Discussion
« Reply #8 on: April 19, 2014, 03:11:53 PM »
Necrocarnate via Totemist 2 is the only way to get all of the useful
binding locations in by level 20.  Not that this does anything really.

Summon Swarm
Kill one bug
Kill more bugs
Note 1st level ability

If you wanted to do a dumpster dive to find the better Necro Zombie forms
and post them here, that'd be appreciated.
Your codpiece is a mimic.

Offline PsyBomb

  • DnD Handbook Writer
  • **
  • Posts: 195
  • I'm new!
    • View Profile
Re: General Incarnum Discussion
« Reply #9 on: April 19, 2014, 03:53:24 PM »
I always used a Belt of Many Pockets with an ant colony in one ( black ants).

Offline Sinfire Titan

  • Hustler 3
  • Retired Admin
  • *****
  • Posts: 1443
  • You have one round to give a rat's ass.
    • View Profile
Re: General Incarnum Discussion
« Reply #10 on: April 09, 2017, 11:54:08 PM »
OMG, Sinfire updated something. It must be a miracle.

I've added a post regarding using the Totemist as a Sneak Attack engine. Honestly the damage output it is capable of is similar to a standard Rogue build, but the versatility you have is near the Psionic Rogue. It isn't bad to try it, but the big advantage is not being reliant on TWFing all of the time.
Concerned about how moderation works here? Please PM this account.

Offline bhu

  • Uncle Kittie
  • DnD Handbook Writer
  • ****
  • Posts: 14800
  • Fnord bitches
    • View Profile
Re: General Incarnum Discussion
« Reply #11 on: April 10, 2017, 12:11:13 AM »
nice to see u back

Offline awaken_D_M_golem

  • Epic Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 7616
  • classique style , invisible tail
    • View Profile
Re: General Incarnum Discussion
« Reply #12 on: April 10, 2017, 05:17:12 PM »
Hey yeah, and good stuff too.
Your codpiece is a mimic.

Offline PlzBreakMyCampaign

  • DnD Handbook Writer
  • ****
  • Posts: 1962
  • Immune to Critical Hits as a Fairness Elemental
    • View Profile
Re: General Incarnum Discussion
« Reply #13 on: April 20, 2017, 06:36:48 PM »
Well every DM should have anything that can manage true seeing use the effect if it A) knows illusions exist and B) wants to be able to trust what it sees. So I guess gogo sneaky totemists?

Also, the thread should be renamed X handbook, Y handbook and Z handbook Discussion so people using search+find know this is the right place.

Offline Sinfire Titan

  • Hustler 3
  • Retired Admin
  • *****
  • Posts: 1443
  • You have one round to give a rat's ass.
    • View Profile
Re: General Incarnum Discussion
« Reply #14 on: April 23, 2017, 11:21:12 PM »
Well every DM should have anything that can manage true seeing use the effect if it A) knows illusions exist and B) wants to be able to trust what it sees. So I guess gogo sneaky totemists?

Also, the thread should be renamed X handbook, Y handbook and Z handbook Discussion so people using search+find know this is the right place.

Point taken on the thread title.
Concerned about how moderation works here? Please PM this account.