Author Topic: Can a Creature with SR Never Benefit From a Curative Potion?  (Read 962 times)

Offline ksbsnowowl

  • DnD Handbook Writer
  • ****
  • Posts: 4773
  • Warrior Skald, teller of tales.
    • View Profile
Can a Creature with SR Never Benefit From a Curative Potion?
« on: November 07, 2011, 03:00:08 PM »
Quote
A creature can voluntarily lower its spell resistance. Doing so is a standard action that does not provoke an attack of opportunity. Once a creature lowers its resistance, it remains down until the creature’s next turn. At the beginning of the creature’s next turn, the creature’s spell resistance automatically returns unless the creature intentionally keeps it down (also a standard action that does not provoke an attack of opportunity).
Drinking a potion is a standard action, as such, a creature with SR cannot ever benefit from a curative potion (unless someone else feeds it to him, as a full-round action).  How stupid is that?

Is it game-breaking to allow a creature to suppress SR in the first round, and then drink the potion in the second round, ignoring the SR?

Offline StreamOfTheSky

  • DnD Handbook Writer
  • ****
  • Posts: 1219
    • View Profile
Re: Can a Creature with SR Never Benefit From a Curative Potion?
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2011, 03:03:35 PM »
Unless I'm mistaken about the rule that creatures can automatically bypass their own SR for spells they cast, you don't need a houserule.  From the Potions section:

"The drinker of a potion is both the effective target and the caster of the effect (though the potion indicates the caster level, the drinker still controls the effect)."

Offline Mooncrow

  • DnD Handbook Writer
  • ***
  • Posts: 983
  • The man who will be Pirate King
    • View Profile
Re: Can a Creature with SR Never Benefit From a Curative Potion?
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2011, 03:06:26 PM »
Unless I'm mistaken about the rule that creatures can automatically bypass their own SR for spells they cast, you don't need a houserule.  From the Potions section:

"The drinker of a potion is both the effective target and the caster of the effect (though the potion indicates the caster level, the drinker still controls the effect)."

Aye, they automatically bypass their own SR, in fact, they can't apply SR to their own spells even if they want to. 
« Last Edit: November 07, 2011, 11:54:22 PM by Mooncrow »

Offline ksbsnowowl

  • DnD Handbook Writer
  • ****
  • Posts: 4773
  • Warrior Skald, teller of tales.
    • View Profile
Re: Can a Creature with SR Never Benefit From a Curative Potion?
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2011, 03:37:29 PM »
Indeed, if I had just read one more line beyond what I'd quoted:   :o
Quote
A creature’s spell resistance never interferes with its own spells, items, or abilities.

Offline Optimator

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • The Dude abides.
    • View Profile
Re: Can a Creature with SR Never Benefit From a Curative Potion?
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2011, 11:31:44 PM »
Unless I'm mistaken about the rule that creatures can automatically bypass their own SR for spells they cast, you don't need a houserule.  From the Potions section:

"The drinker of a potion is both the effective target and the caster of the effect (though the potion indicates the caster level, the drinker still controls the effect)."

Interesting.  Never saw that before.  Good to know.