Here's a bonafide trap option feat:
QUARTERSTAFF MASTER (COMBAT)
Source Ultimate Magic
You can wield a quarterstaff as either a two-handed or one-handed weapon.
Prerequisites: Weapon Focus (quarterstaff), base attack bonus +5.
Benefit: By employing a number of different stances and techniques, you can wield a quarterstaff as a one-handed weapon. At the start of your turn, you decide whether or not you are going to wield the quarterstaff as a one-handed or two-handed weapon. When you wield it as a one-handed weapon, your other hand is free, and you cannot use the staff as a double weapon. You can take the feat Weapon Specialization in the quarterstaff even if you have no levels in fighter.
This is amazingly stupid. I think the following rules text about double weapons from the PRD
needs to be quoted: "The character can also choose to use a double weapon two-handed, attacking with only one end of it. A creature wielding a double weapon in one hand can't use it as a double weapon—only one end of the weapon can be used in any given round." And these are already free actions, not "choose at start of turn and it's set in stone."
So the only thing this feat really does is enable you to take the Weapon Specialization feat so you do +2 damage with your quarterstaff, in case you felt like investing 3 feats as a non-Fighter to do +1 attack and +2 damage with quarterstaves.
For a novice though, they might think this makes for a good quarterstaff build.