Just a couple house rule updates we had but I never put in the thread.
This is what we had decided to use from the Jedi Counseling errata article;
Q: It seems to me that area attacks might be too good. Even if you miss, you're still dealing at least half damage unless the target has Evasion or improved cover. Doesn't this make things like autofire (which you can do even with a run-of-the-mill blaster rifle) a no-brainer unless your attack bonus greatly exceeds the target's Reflex Defense?
A: A few details were left out of the area attack rules. They're in the first set of errata, but they're worth covering here:
First, when making an area attack, your modified attack roll (after subtracting penalties for range, concealment, and so on) must be a 10 or higher for the attack to have any effect. If that condition is met, you compare the result to the Reflex Defense of everyone in the area for half or full damage. Given this, it's possible to make such a poor attack that no one is affected at all. In these cases, the idea is that your throw lands somewhere harmless, you shot over the target's heads (in the case of autofire), or maybe you even forgot to arm the grenade before throwing.
Second, if you make an area attack against a target that has cover (not just improved cover), the target takes no damage if the attack misses. Just as in real life, the best defense against explosives or bursts of autofire is to get in a trench or behind an obstacle. To determine if a target has cover, draw a line from the center of the burst or splash radius (for explosives and the like) or from the attacker (for autofire).
Third, you can't aim when making an area attack, so you never get to ignore the target's cover.
Together, these details make area attacks and autofire incredibly effective against a target at relatively close range on open terrain. Such a target is in big, big trouble. In contrast, area attacks and autofire are almost worthless against a target that has cover or concealment or that is at great range. For example, don't bother trying it against a hidden sniper shooting from hundreds of meters away.
found on page 8 of the ooc thread on the other forum
Force Powers and AoO
Ah you found a rule I missed in my rule run down. Most force powers in combat do not provoke attacks. They usually only do when an extended amount of concentration is involved. Normally ones that require full round action, or are maintained from round to round. For Move Object I would say if it is a quick use to toss something at someone or toss that someone elsewhere it won't provoke one. But if you lift an object and are maintaining it in the air into the next round then you would.
The Core Rules basically state anything that requires you to divert your attention away from defending yourself will provoke an AoO.
From page 7 of the previous ooc thread.