When advancing (aka adding HD) to a non-intelligent construct, does it get an ability increase at every 4th HD?
I was looking at Stone Golem vs Greater Stone Golem. STR increase by +8, Dex by -2. Which is what you get when you change size from large to huge. But it also increase HD from 14 to 42, so should get a bump at 16, 20, 24, 28, 32, 36, and 40. That's 7 increases for those counting.
Ability Score Improvement: Whenever a monster reaches a number of Hit Dice divisible by 4, it improves one ability score by 1 point. For example, a lammasu of 7 Hit Dice increased to 14 Hit Dice gains an ability score improvement at 8 HD and another one at 12 HD. Monsters do not gain ability score increases for levels they “already reached” with their racial Hit Dice, since these adjustments are included in their basic ability scores.
This is actually the 2nd time I've seen a golem not get the stat increases. The first one was an advanced Flesh Golem in Enemies and Allies, but that's a 3.0 book so I thought maybe it's different.
Did I miss a rule somewhere?