Gaming Discussion > D&D 3.5 and Pathfinder

Eldritch Blast vs Hold Person


Eldritch Blast is a spell-like ability. I believe SLAs do not require any verbal, somatic, or material components; i.e. they're a purely mental action. Hold Person paralysis its victim, but mental actions are still allowed. So can a person being held still use eldritch blast?

There are specific rules governing Warlock invocations and eldritch blast - and they do actually have somatic components. From the class write-up in Complete Arcane, under "Weapon and Armor Proficiency":

Because the somatic components required for warlock
invocations are relatively simple, a warlock can use any of
his invocations while wearing light armor without incurring
the normal arcane spell failure chance. However, like arcane
spellcasters, a warlock wearing medium or heavy armor or
using a shield incurs a chance of arcane spell failure (all
invocations, including eldritch blast, have a somatic component).

A paralyzed creature can only undertake mental actions, so Eldritch Blast is out.

Alright, thanks.


[0] Message Index

Go to full version