Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10
1
For posterity, and in case anyone is still using them, here are the maneuvers in this discipline from before this most recent big rework.

Discipline Description
(click to show/hide)

Maneuver Descriptions
(click to show/hide)

Feats
(click to show/hide)
2
September 1776 / Re: Chapter 2: Haxan
« Last post by RobbyPants on Yesterday at 09:48:43 AM »
"Had you practiced the art before your move? I've studied the history of it a bit, but I'm largely unaware of recent developments outside of the colonies.

I have not been made an offer, apart from helping to organize the truce between the humans and ghouls.

Were you involved with them before you moved?"

3
September 1776 / Re: Chapter 2: Haxan
« Last post by bhu on April 11, 2024, 10:05:08 PM »
"Ha!  No, my family fled from Spain and it's patriarchy.  This new land is dreadfully drab, and seems to have a lot of the problems of the old one.  But with Washington's folly, we may find a freer life yet.  Have the sisters made you an offer yet?"
4
Uncle Kittie's Unnecessary Revisions / Re: 5E Barbarian Path Variants
« Last post by bhu on April 11, 2024, 01:14:27 AM »
THE MAD BOWLER
x

BALL OF RAGE
At 3rd Level you can summon a smoking, writhing ball of Elemental Earth that is pissed off beyond all reason.  It immediately appears in your hand when you enter Rage, and will automatically reappear there if it is knocked out of your hand or taken, or after you make an attack by throwing it.  It does 2d4 Bludgeoning damage, uses Strength for attack and damage rolls, and can be used as a melee or thrown weapon (range is 20/60 feet), and you apply your Rage Bonus to damage when throwing it.  Creatures hit by it must make a Dexterity Saving Throw (Save DC is 8 + your Proficiency Bonus + your Strength Modifier) or be knocked Prone. 

BOOMER
At 6th Level your ball does 2d6 magical Bludgeoning damage.  Additionally, if you successfully knock an opponent Prone, you can move him 10 feet in any direction (except up or down).  If this puts  the target in the space of another creature, it must make a Strength Saving Throw or be moved into an adjacent empty square, and be knocked Prone.  If it cannot be moved, it must still make the Save or be knocked Prone while the original target stops where it is.  Regardless both creatures take 1d6 Bludgeoning damage as they collide.

PICK YOUR SHOT
At 10th Level you can choose to throw underhand or overhand.

x
At 14th Level you
5
September 1776 / Re: Chapter 2: Haxan
« Last post by RobbyPants on April 09, 2024, 09:15:11 PM »
Elizabeth bows in return. She's never been one for dresses or curtsies.

"...Most of my work has been in furthering my understanding of the world or using that knowledge in service to others. They keep me grounded.

I've seen you around, before. Did you grow up, here?"

6
September 1776 / Re: Chapter 2: Haxan
« Last post by bhu on April 09, 2024, 08:36:14 PM »
She is young, blond and well dressed.  Very attractive, but her eyes and smile are a bit too feral for your comfort.  You've occasionally seen her in the background when the Haxan have gathered, usually whispering in someone's ear.  She does not appear to be of german descent, unlike many of the Haxan.  She gives a quick, light curtsey.

"Honestly, how do you put up with those lumbering buffoons?  They must hold you back."
7
Min/Max 3.x / Re: Full spell list
« Last post by Arz on April 09, 2024, 03:44:33 PM »
Actually Summon Weapon is called Summon Warforged Champion in the list and Summon Warforged Champion doesn't exist.

   Leomund’s Spacious Carriage [Cityscape 66]
Enchantment (Compulsion) [Mind-Affecting]
... should be
Conjuration (Creation)
8
September 1776 / Re: Chapter 2: Haxan
« Last post by RobbyPants on April 09, 2024, 01:23:54 PM »
Elizabeth is perhaps a bit taken aback by her demeanor. Is she old, like many of the others? Has she seen her around?

"...I do. I am Elizabeth."

Does she offer to shake her hand, bow, or do any other courtesy? If so, Elizabeth responds in kind.
9
Homebrew and House Rules (D&D) / Re: 1001 Homebrew Ideas to Flesh Out Sometime
« Last post by Garryl on April 08, 2024, 10:47:01 PM »
Tactician base class

Martial adept with a bit of Marshal in it.

Initial notes. Many ideas have since been changed, including such basics as how the core mechanic, plans, even works.
(click to show/hide)

Disciplines: Setting Sun, Diamond Mind, White Raven, Revealing Light, ...
Recovery: Full-round action to abandon any of your implemented plans and recover all maneuvers not in any of your plans that are still implemented.
Auras: Project tactical auras, which are like major auras that also link in with plans. No minor auras, since you have stances as a martial adept. Aura bonus progression is slow, like the paladin, since you've got full martial adept goodness.



Maneuvers: You begin your career with knowledge of six martial maneuvers. The disciplines available to you are ..., and ....

Once you know a maneuver, you must ready it before you can use it (see Maneuvers Readied, below). A maneuver usable by a tactician is considered an extraordinary ability unless otherwise noted in its description. Your maneuvers are not affected by spell resistance, and you do not provoke attacks of opportunity when you initiate one.

You learn additional maneuvers at higher levels, as shown on the table above. You must meet a maneuver's prerequisite to learn it. See Table 3-1: Highest-Level Maneuvers Known (TOB 39), to determine the highest-level maneuvers you can learn.

Upon reaching 4th level, and at every even-numbered tactician level after that (6th, 8th, 10th, and so on), you can choose to learn a new maneuver in place of one you already know. In effect, you lose the old maneuver in exchange for the new one. You can choose a new maneuver of any level you like, as long as you observe your restriction on the highest-level maneuvers you know; you need not replace the old maneuver with a maneuver of the same level. For example, upon reaching 10th level, you could trade in a single 1st-, 2nd-, 3rd- or 4th-level maneuver for a maneuver of 5th level or lower, as long as you meet the prerequisite of the new maneuver. You can swap only a single maneuver at any given level.

Maneuvers Readied: You can ready all six of the maneuvers you know at 1st level, and as you advance in level and learn more maneuvers, you are able to ready more, but you must choose which maneuvers to ready. You ready your maneuvers by practicing for 5 minutes, going through the motions of the maneuvers over and over in order. The maneuvers you choose remain readied until you decide to exercise again and change them. You need not sleep or rest for any long period of time to ready your maneuvers; any time you spend 5 minutes in practice, you can change your readied maneuvers.

You begin an encounter with all your readied maneuvers unexpended, regardless of how many times you might have already used them since you chose them. When you initiate a maneuver, you expend it for the current encounter, so each of your readied maneuvers can be used once per encounter (until you recover them, as described below).

Tacticians are unique among martial adepts, relying on prepared plans to inform their next actions what maneuvers are best to be used in any given situation. When you ready your tactician maneuvers, you must assign them to plans. Each readied maneuver must be assigned to a single plan. Those plans remain fixed until you once again ready your maneuvers. You can prepare any number of plans at once, as long as each plan has at least one maneuver assigned to it, but each plan can have a maximum of two assigned maneuvers assigned.

Maneuvers assigned to unimplemented plans are withheld and inaccessible. When you implement a plan, the maneuvers assigned to that plan are granted to you, but the maneuvers assigned to your other plans remain withheld. Thus, you can only initiate the maneuvers assigned to your current implemented plan. Once implemented, a plan remains implemented until you abandon it, you recovery all of your maneuvers, or you ready your maneuvers and prepare new plans. You can implement a plan as a free action during your turn as long as you have fewer implemented plans than your maximum (typically one).

As a tactician, you can spend a full-round action to reevaluate your tactical situation. When you do, you can abandon any of your implemented plans, rendering the maneuvers assigned to them withheld again. Then, you recover all of your maneuvers not assigned to any still-implemented plans.

When preparing plans, you can assign an additional maneuver to each of them at 7th level (bringing your total to three), and again at 18th level (bringing your total to four).

Stances Known: You begin play with knowledge of one stance from any discipline open to tacticians. At *th, *th, and *th level, you can choose additional stances. Unlike maneuvers, stances are not expended, and you do not have to ready them. All the stances you know are available to you at all times, and you can change the stance you are currently using as a swift action. A stance is an extraordinary ability unless otherwise stated in the stance description.

Unlike with maneuvers, you cannot learn a new stance at higher levels in place of one you already know.



Auras (Ex): As a tactician, your presence and leadership exerts an effect on creatures in your vicinity. You can learn to produce different effects, or auras, over the course of your career. You may project one minor aura and one major aura at a time. If you possess the ability to project auras from multiple sources, the number of auras of any given type that you can project at once does not stack.

Activating an aura is a swift action. The aura remains in effect until you use a free action to dismiss it or you activate another aura of the same kind (major or minor). You can have an aura active continually; thus, an aura can be in effect at the start of a combat encounter even before you take your first turn.

As a tactician, activating an aura is a purely mental action. Unless otherwise noted, your auras affect all creatures within 60 feet (including yourself) that you can communicate with, even if you don't share a language. A creature must have an Intelligence score to be subjected to an aura (mindless creatures cannot be directly affected by your auras). Your aura is dismissed and you cannot project an aura while you are dazed, unconscious, stunned, paralyzed, or otherwise unable to communicate.

Some auras affect your enemies instead of, or in addition to, your allies. Unless otherwise stated, the save DC of your aura is equal to 10 + 1/2 your class level + your Charisma modifier.

Except where otherwise noted, all modifiers granted by your auras are morale bonuses (or penalties) with a magnitude equal to your aura bonus (bonuses add your aura bonus, penalties subtract it). These morale bonuses and penalties still affect targets immune to mind-affecting effects that are otherwise subject to your aura.

Tactical Aura: Beginning at 3rd level, you can project a tactical aura. A tactical aura grants allies bonuses or harms enemies. The magnitude of the bonus granted by your tactical auras is initially +1, and it improves by 1 at 8th level and every 5 levels thereafter. You learn two tactical auras of your choice at 3rd level. As your tactician level increases, you gain access to new auras, as indicated on the table above.

Unlike other auras, you cannot project tactical auras freely. When you prepare a plan, you can assign up to two of your tactical auras to it, although some abilities allow you to assign more auras at a time to the same plan. Unlike maneuvers, you can assign a given tactical aura to any number of plans at once. When you activate a plan, you can begin projecting any of its tactical auras as a free action. You can only project a tactical aura while a plan it is assigned to is active. Each tactical aura can only be assigned to a single plan at a time.

In addition to its standard effect for projecting it, each tactical aura lists a tactical condition. If a tactical aura is assigned to a plan and you witness the listed condition as it occurs, you can abandon one of your current plans as an immediate action to implement the associated plan. When a tactical condition refers to "a nearby ally", it means you or an ally that would be within the are of the aura if you were projecting it. Similarly, when a tactical condition refers to "a nearby opponent", it means an opponent that would be within the are of the aura if you were projecting it.

Some tactical auras also list one or more plan requirements. A plan must meet those criteria in order to have the aura assigned to it.

(click to show/hide)

Dilate Aura (Ex): Starting at 7th level, the range of your auras increases by 30 feet (to a total of 90 feet). Their range increases by 30 feet again at each of 12th and 17th level.

Side Objectives (Ex): Beginning at 12th level, you can have an additional plan implemented at once. Additionally, you gain Extra Aura (tactical aura) as a bonus feat, allowing you to project one more tactical aura at once than normal (for a total of 2 tactical auras). You must activate or dismiss your auras separately. You need not meet the prerequisites of this feat.

Backup Plan (Ex): Beginning at xth level, when you prepare your plans, you can designate one of them as a backup plan. You can assign one fewer maneuver and tactical aura than normal to this plan. You can abandon a plan to implement the backup plan as though it was assigned an aura with a tactical condition of "any time".
10
September 1776 / Re: Chapter 2: Haxan
« Last post by bhu on April 07, 2024, 08:24:08 PM »
"Greetings, I am Isabella.  I will be your contact for our side.  I see you have an escort."
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10