Author Topic: Eldritch Blast vs Hold Person  (Read 658 times)

Offline kitep

  • DnD Handbook Writer
  • ****
  • Posts: 1947
  • Lookout World!
    • View Profile
Eldritch Blast vs Hold Person
« on: February 25, 2024, 01:06:41 AM »
Eldritch Blast is a spell-like ability. I believe SLAs do not require any verbal, somatic, or material components; i.e. they're a purely mental action. Hold Person paralysis its victim, but mental actions are still allowed. So can a person being held still use eldritch blast?

Offline Skyrock

  • DnD Handbook Writer
  • ****
  • Posts: 1790
    • View Profile
Re: Eldritch Blast vs Hold Person
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2024, 08:12:23 AM »
There are specific rules governing Warlock invocations and eldritch blast - and they do actually have somatic components. From the class write-up in Complete Arcane, under "Weapon and Armor Proficiency":

Because the somatic components required for warlock
invocations are relatively simple, a warlock can use any of
his invocations while wearing light armor without incurring
the normal arcane spell failure chance. However, like arcane
spellcasters, a warlock wearing medium or heavy armor or
using a shield incurs a chance of arcane spell failure (all
invocations, including eldritch blast, have a somatic component).


A paralyzed creature can only undertake mental actions, so Eldritch Blast is out.

Offline kitep

  • DnD Handbook Writer
  • ****
  • Posts: 1947
  • Lookout World!
    • View Profile
Re: Eldritch Blast vs Hold Person
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2024, 12:32:33 AM »
Alright, thanks.