Author Topic: Absorption: Never run out of spells again! (by Cruiser1)  (Read 11132 times)

Offline 123456789blaaa

  • DnD Handbook Writer
  • ***
  • Posts: 623
  • Not very active here but still active online
    • View Profile
Re: Absorption: Never run out of spells again! (by Cruiser1)
« Reply #20 on: November 27, 2012, 05:18:27 PM »
God damn it people!  >:(. I don't usually swear but you guys should know better. If you want to freakin argue then is it really that hard to make a new thread instead of derailing this one?
Please, call me Count :).

Offline betrayor

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 474
  • Monitoring...
    • View Profile
Re: Absorption: Never run out of spells again! (by Cruiser1)
« Reply #21 on: November 27, 2012, 05:25:26 PM »
You are right of course and as I said I apologise for my part in derailing the thread,.....

Maybe a mod should move the irreleveant posts to another thread......

On topic though,another option would be to be a Eldritch Theurge and use the warlocks at will abilities to use on absorption....

Offline kitep

  • DnD Handbook Writer
  • ****
  • Posts: 1948
  • Lookout World!
    • View Profile
Re: Absorption: Never run out of spells again! (by Cruiser1)
« Reply #22 on: November 28, 2012, 08:36:31 PM »
To help rail it back on track, let me ask this: does the spell stack with itself?

Ie, maximized absorption allows you to absorb 10 levels of spells.  Does casting it again bring the total up to 20, or does it stay at 10? 


Offline kitep

  • DnD Handbook Writer
  • ****
  • Posts: 1948
  • Lookout World!
    • View Profile
Re: Absorption: Never run out of spells again! (by Cruiser1)
« Reply #23 on: November 28, 2012, 08:43:30 PM »
To help answer my own question, let me quote the PHB

Quote from: PHB-172
Same Effect More than Once in Different Strengths: In cases when two
or more identical spells are operating in the same area or on the
same target, but at different strengths, only the best one applies. For
example, if a character takes a –4 penalty to Strength from a ray of
enfeeblement spell and then receives a second ray of enfeeblement spell
that applies a –6 penalty, he or she takes only the –6 penalty. Both
spells are still operating on the character, however. If one ray of
enfeeblement spell is dispelled or its duration runs out, the other spell
remains in effect, assuming that its duration has not yet expired.

Offline Gazzien

  • DnD Handbook Writer
  • ****
  • Posts: 2113
  • Science? Science.
    • View Profile
Re: Absorption: Never run out of spells again! (by Cruiser1)
« Reply #24 on: December 12, 2012, 12:42:32 AM »
To help answer my own question, let me quote the PHB

Quote from: PHB-172
Same Effect More than Once in Different Strengths: In cases when two
or more identical spells are operating in the same area or on the
same target, but at different strengths, only the best one applies. For
example, if a character takes a –4 penalty to Strength from a ray of
enfeeblement spell and then receives a second ray of enfeeblement spell
that applies a –6 penalty, he or she takes only the –6 penalty. Both
spells are still operating on the character, however. If one ray of
enfeeblement spell is dispelled or its duration runs out, the other spell
remains in effect, assuming that its duration has not yet expired.

I believe it only allows you to absorb 10, but if you have 10, absorb 9, cast nine (leaving you with one), then cast Absorption again (for 10 more), it would reset to 10. That's my interpretation, at least.